Way of the Five Seasons

Author(s): John Kirkwood

Religion & Spirit

Here is a comprehensive and practical guide to using the Five Element model in your daily life in ways that can improve your physical health, foster mental ease and clarity, create more emotional balance, and bring you closer to spirit. Having introduced the philosophical and practical principles of the Five Elements, the author invites you to 'live the book', immersing yourself in the many aspects of each Element during its corresponding season. He offers a range of methods of doing this, including activities such as movement, cooking, gardening, journaling, visualisation, meditation, dialogue and self-acupressure. In working with each Element, he explores the three levels or expressions of human life - the physical (structures, organs, tissues and systems), the psycho-emotional (thoughts, beliefs, self-images, emotions and reactions), and the spirit. Detailed information is provided on each Element's specific attributes, associations, resonances and gifts, and anatomical illustrations are included for further guidance. An invaluable reference book for practitioners and students of Chinese Medicine who hope to become better practitioners to others, the book also provides the means to become a practitioner to yourself.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A guide to living the seasons in harmony, the Chinese wisdom tradition way, the book deeply explores the connections between the physical, psychological, emotional and spiritual levels of human experience

John Kirkwood has been working, living and playing with the Five Elements for 30 years, first as a practitioner and teacher of Jin Shin Do(R) Acupressure, later as a graduate of the SOPHIA program of the Traditional Acupuncture Institute of Maryland, and now as a practitioner and teacher of Five Element Acupressure. He lives in the beautiful Adelaide Hills of South Australia.

Author's Preface. Introduction. Part One - Preparing for a Journey. 1. How to use this Book. 2. The Five Element Model. 3. The Landscape of the Elements. 4. The Levels of the Soul. 5. Activities & Practices. Part Two - The Journey. 6. Water. 7. Wood. 8. Fire. 9. Earth. 10. Metal. Afterword.

General Fields

  • : 9781848193017
  • : Jessica Kingsley Publishers
  • : Singing Dragon
  • : 0.59
  • : March 2016
  • : 246mm X 173mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 336
  • : 49 B&W figures, 14 B&W tables